Salesforce Certification
Guided Help x

Architect Domain Credential Overview

The Architect Journey is comprised of three tiers of certification designed to recognize and promote your skills and specializations. Salesforce Certified Architecture Designers are recognized for their knowledge and expertise on particular domains. Salesforce Certified Domain Architects are recognized for their broad and deep architecture expertise across a number of domains. Salesforce Certified Technical Architects demonstrate their knowledge, skills, and capabilities to build and design high-performance technical solutions on the Lightning Platform across all domains.

Credential Overview

The Salesforce Certified Identity and Access Management Designer credential is designed for those who assess the architecture environment and requirements and design sound, scalable and high-performing solutions on the Lightning Platform that meet the Single Sign-on (SSO) requirements. Candidates should have experience communicating solutions and design trade-offs to businesses and IT stakeholders.

Here are some examples of the concepts you should understand to pass the exam:

  • Understanding Configuration requirements of delegated authentication
  • Understanding configuration requirements of SAML
  • Knowledge of when to use IDP initiated vs. service provider initiated
  • Describing provisioning and de-provisioning related to SAML, Oauth, and OpenID Connect

About the Exam

All proctored Salesforce certification exams can be scheduled as an onsite or online exam. Learn more about scheduling an exam.

Quick facts about the exam:

  • 60 multiple-choice/multiple-select questions* (5 unscored items will be added)
  • 120 minutes allotted to complete the exam (time allows for unscored questions)
  • 65% is the passing score
  • Registration fee is USD 400, plus applicable taxes as required per local law
  • Retake fee is USD 200, plus applicable taxes as required per local law
  • No hard-copy or online materials may be referenced during the exam
  • No prerequisites
  • A full exam outline can be found in the exam guide
  • If you are ready to get started on the journey toward earning your Identity and Access Management Designer credential, be sure to check out our Certification Trailmix. We have included essential Trailhead learning specifically with you in mind.

*Please note that as of November 16, 2017, all Salesforce certification exams will contain five additional, randomly placed, unscored questions to gather data on question performance. The duration of each exam has been evaluated and adjusted to accommodate the inclusion of the unscored questions. These five questions will be in addition to the 60 scored questions on your exam, and will have no impact whatsoever on your score.

Sample Questions

These sample questions are representative of what you can expect to see on the Salesforce Certified Identity and Access Management Designer exam and are designed to help you become familiar with the testing format.

More sample questions are available in our Exam Guide.

What are three advantages of implementing a federated Single Sign-on solution?

Choose three answers

  1. Reduced IT help desk costs due to fewer password resets.
  2. Centralized provisioning and de-provisioning of users.
  3. All Service Provider credentials will be synchronized.
  4. Users cannot access Salesforce with Salesforce credentials.
  5. Increased adoption of applications by end users.

The Answer is A,B,E.

Which three attributes can be used to represent the identity of the user when Salesforce is acting as a Service Provider in a SAML configuration?

Choose three answers

  1. Salesforce User ID
  2. Salesforce Username
  3. Federation ID
  4. User Email Address
  5. User Full Name

The Answer is A,B,C.